top of page

Life Changes and Managing Time

2017 is bringing with it a lot of changes. In my personal life, I am leaving my current job with a library and moving across the globe to live with my partner in Queensland, Australia! Leaving a job that provides me with a regular paycheck is a little unnerving, but doing so will allow me to focus on my artistic endeavors, from drawing, digital artwork, and watercolours to learning to play the ukulele (and learning to work on a dairy farm!)

So here I am, attempting to launch an online portfolio so that I might begin to take art commissions again. Creating a website with price lists is arguably the easiest step in the process, especially if you include negotiating prices! But all of that is small change (har har) compared to my upcoming life move.

The concept of minimizing my things so entirely that they fit into two checked bags and a carry-on is more than daunting. Minimalism has always held an appeal on paper, but in practice I fail miserably.

This again is small beans compared to the process required to stay in Australia with my partner beyond the year-long visa I have in my passport. So I am tackling the little hill of laying groundwork for turning my love of artwork into some form of income.

Baby steps.

bottom of page